Pages Menu
Menu

A place according to the Path

Summary

The grace and blessings of Chenrezig, The One Whose Eyes- Embrace the World, in the form called Thoukdje Chenpo (in Tibetan) or Great Compassion (in English) are the origin of the creation of this place, which was named Thouktchenling or Garden of Great Compassion.

Chenrezig, The One Whose Eyes- Embrace the World, is appears notably as the Gyalwa Karmapa (Victorious Holder of Awakened Activity), living Buddha and the Garden of Great Compassion is placed directly under his protection and blessings.

This place enables you to develop the understanding of the Teachings of the Buddha and to improve through listening, reflection and meditation, in order to recognize the nature of mind, according to the transmission line Kamtsang Karma.

The highest purpose of this life consists in the liberation of all suffering through the realization of enlightenment and this path of practice has an immeasurable value.

To achieve this, it is essential to develop the six transcendent virtues (Sanskrit: Paramita) such as generosity (Dāna), ethics (Śīla), patience (Kṣanti), perseverance (Vīrya), stable attention (Dhyāna) and wisdom (Prajñā). Four other complementary virtues are developed, such as the means (Upāya), aspiration (Pranidhāna), power (Bala) and knowledge (Jñāna).

Learn more

This place of retreat and meditation practice was realized by the grace, the blessings and inspiration given by Avalokiteshvara (Sanskrit), and more specifically Maha Karounika (Sanskrit), in his appearance of eleven faces and one thousand arms, named Thoukdje Tchenpo (Tibetan) or Great Compassion (in English). He is the manifestation of love and compassion of all Buddhas.

Thus Thoukchenling or The Garden of Great Compassion it is the symbol of the union of Emptiness and Compassion or in other words the Great Seal.

Avalokiteshvara, which can be translated by the One whose Eyes Embrace the World, appeared especially in the person of Gyalwa Karmapa, a living Buddha who came to birth in the human world through successive incarnations. The Garden of Great Compassion is placed directly under his protection and his blessing.

This place is related in particular to the Sixteenth Gyalwa Karmapa Rangdjoung Rigpai Dorje and to the Venerable Guendun Rinpoche who made wishes for the creation of such a place. The Venerable Lama Teunsang also encouraged its creation. They wished that the authentic teaching would be provided and practiced here for the benefit of all beings.

With great perseverance, a lot of patience and also with prodigious joy, we have tried to build this place of retreat as to be peaceful, favourable to meditation, and the most welcoming and comfortable. This was possible thanks to the generosity, the confidence and the enthusiasm of many people.

The Transmission

Thus, we offer a place of retreat in a quiet, peaceful, and exceptional mountain area, favourable to meditation to develop, and deepen the Buddha’s Teaching through listening, reflection and meditation. The aim of these Teachings is to recognize the true nature of mind by different methods that are taught according to one of the many continuous transmission lines, the Kamtsang Karma Lineage.

This lineage has its origins in India with the Shakyamuni Buddha.

The Great Enlightened Indian Tilopa received directly the transmission from the Buddha in his extraordinary appearance, Vadjradhara. He also received transmissions from several Greatly Achieved human beings like Nagarjuna, Tengipa, Indrabhodi, Aryadeva, Kanhapa and Lavapa.

Tilopa then transmitted his teaching to the Great Saint and Scholar Naropa.

Then these instructions and spiritual influences spread in Tibet thanks to the Grand Tibetan translator Marpa, through the Karma Kagyu lineage to which belongs Milarepa, The Great Saint and renowned Tibetan Poet.

Gampopa, an oustanding person whose coming was predicted by the very Buddha Shakyamouni him-self, then became the holder the transmission.

Then these grace and blessings currents were forwarded by the successive lineage of Karmapas appearance that have persisted since then until today through the person of the Gyalwa Karmapa, a true manifestation of the living Buddha and the current holder of the Karma Kagyu lineage.

Therefore, we have the unique opportunity to receive these instructions and to put them into practice. In fact, today the Dharma is spreading throughout the world thanks to the activity of many Achieved Masters as Gyalwa Karmapa.

Thus, what is taught in this place is authentic and corresponds to this transmission. You can receive the means which lead to dissipate gradually the veils of the mind and enable to mature awakened qualities which are in each of us.

Behaving according to the Path

The highest purpose of this life consists in the liberation from all suffering through the realization of Enlightenment. That is why we go into this way of practice, as it has an immeasurable value.

To achieve this, it is essential to develop the six transcendent virtues (Sanskrit: Paramita) such as generosity (Dāna), ethics (Śīla), patience (Kṣanti), perseverance (Vīrya), stable attention (Dhyāna) and wisdom (Prajñā). Four other complementary virtues are developed, such as the means (Upāya), aspiration (Pranidhāna), power (Bala) and knowledge (Jñāna).

Nothing can be received if we are not willing to give without greed ; it is impossible to behave fairly if we do not preserve a pure ethic ; anger and aversion cannot be transformed if we don’t increase true patience ; we cannot reach completion without cultivating perseverance ; without steady attention we cannot develop an adequate consciousness of every moment. If ignorance and veils of consciousness are not transformed and clarified, wisdom cannot flourish.

Without the ability to identify the appropriate method for each being, the welfare of others cannot be accomplished. Without the desire and aspiration to save people, practices are just words. Without the ability and spiritual power, nothing can be accomplished. Without knowledge or definitive wisdom, true liberation cannot be achieved.

Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Un lieu selon la Voie

En résumé

La grâce et les bénédictions de Tchènrézig, Celui-dont-les-Yeux- Embrassent le Monde, sous sa forme appelée Thoukdjé Tchènpo (en Tibétain) ou Grande Compassion (en Français) sont à l’origine de la création de ce lieu, qui a été nommé Thouktchenling ou Jardin de Grande Compassion.

Tchènrézig, Celui dont les Yeux Embrassent le Monde, se manifeste notamment en la personne du Gyalwa Karmapa (le Vainqueur Détenteur de l’Activité Éveillée), Bouddha vivant et le Jardin de Grande Compassion est placé directement sous sa protection et sa bénédiction.

Ce lieu permet de développer la compréhension des Enseignements du Bouddha et de les approfondir au moyen de l’écoute, de la réflexion et de la méditation, afin de reconnaître la nature de l’esprit, selon la lignée de transmission Karma Kamtsang.

Le but le plus élevé de cette vie consiste en la libération de toutes les souffrances par la réalisation de l’Éveil et cette voie de pratique a une valeur incommensurable.

Pour y parvenir, il est essentiel de développer les six vertus transcendantes (sanscrit : Pâramitâ) telles que la générosité (Dâna), l’éthique (Sila), la patience (Ksanti), la persévérance (Virya), l’attention stable (Dhyâna) et la sagesse (Prajñâ). Quatre autres vertus complémentaires sont développées telles que les moyens (Upâya), l’aspiration (Pranidhâna), la puissance (Bala) et la connaissance (Jñâna).

En savoir plus

Ce lieu de retraite et de pratique de méditation a pu prendre forme par la grâce, les bénédictions et l’inspiration qu’a insufflées Avalokitéshvara (en Sanscrit) et plus précisément Maha Karounika (en Sanscrit), dans son aspect aux onze visages et mille bras, nommé Thoukdjé Tchènpo (en Tibétain) ou Grande Compassion (en Français),manifestation de l’amour et de la compassion de tous les Bouddhas. C’est pourquoi ce lieu a été nommé Thouktchenling ou Jardin de Grande Compassion, symbole de l’union de la Vacuité et de la Compassion ou autrement dit le Grand Sceau.

Avalokitéshvara, que l’on peut traduire par Celui dont les Yeux Embrassent le Monde, se manifeste notamment en la personne du Gyalwa Karmapa (le Vainqueur Détenteur de l’Activité Éveillée), Bouddha vivant qui a pris naissance dans le monde humain par des incarnations successives. Le Jardin de Grande Compassion est placé directement sous sa protection et sa bénédiction.

Notre lieu se rattache en particulier au Seizième Gyalwa Karmapa Rangdjoung Rigpai Dordjé (Conscience Adamantine Né-de-lui-même) et au Vénérable Guèndun Rinpotché qui a souhaité la création d’un tel lieu. Le Vénérable Lama Teunzang a aussi encouragé sa création. Ils ont souhaité que l’enseignement authentique y soit dispensé et pratiqué afin d’être bénéfique aux êtres.

C’est avec une grande persévérance et beaucoup de patience mais aussi avec une immense joie que nous nous sommes efforcés de construire ce lieu de retraite paisible et propice à la méditation, le plus accueillant et le plus confortable possible. La générosité, la confiance et l’ardeur de nombreuses personnes ont permis qu’il voie le jour.

La Transmission

Ce lieu permet de développer la compréhension des Enseignements du Bouddha et de les approfondir au moyen de l’écoute, de la réflexion et de la méditation. Ces Enseignements visent à reconnaître la nature de l’esprit par de multiples méthodes qui sont enseignées selon une des nombreuses lignées de transmission ininterrompue, la Lignée Karma Kamtsang.

Cette lignée a son origine en Inde avec le Bouddha Shakyamouni, l’Éveillé Puissant des Shakya.

Le Grand Être accompli Indien Tilopa reçut directement la transmission du Bouddha sous son aspect extraordinaire, Vadjradhara. Il reçut aussi des transmissions de la part de plusieurs Grands Êtres humains accomplis tels que Nagardjouna, Tèngipa, Indrabhodi, Aryadéva, Kanhapa et Lavapa.

Tilopa transmit ensuite son enseignement au Grand Saint et Érudit Naropa.

Puis ces instructions et influences spirituelles se répandirent au Tibet grâce à Marpa le Grand Traducteur Tibétain, au travers de la lignée Kagyu (Lignée de la Transmission Orale) dont Milarépa le Grand Saint et Poète tibétain très renommé fut le détenteur.

Gampopa, être d’exception dont la venue fut prédite par le Bouddha Shakyamouni lui-même, en devint ensuite le dépositaire.

Puis ces courants de grâces et de bénédictions furent transmis par la lignée successive de manifestation des Karmapas qui se perpétue depuis lors jusqu’à nos jours au travers de la personne du Gyalwa Karmapa, véritable manifestation du Bouddha vivant et Détenteur de la Lignée de l’Activité Éveillée (Karma Kagyu).

Dès lors, nous avons l’opportunité unique de recevoir ces instructions et de pouvoir les mettre en pratique. En effet, aujourd’hui le Dharma, l’Enseignement de l’Éveil, se répand à travers le monde entier grâce à l’activité de nombreux Maîtres accomplis tel le Gyalwa Karmapa.

Ainsi ce que vous recevez en ce lieu est authentique et conforme à cette transmission. Vous pouvez obtenir les moyens qui amènent à dissiper progressivement les voiles de l’esprit et permettent de faire mûrir les qualités éveillées qui se trouvent en chacun.

Un comportement selon la voie

Le but le plus élevé de cette vie consiste en la libération de toutes les souffrances par la réalisation de l’Éveil. C’est pourquoi nous nous engageons dans cette voie de pratique, car elle a une valeur incommensurable.

Pour y parvenir, il est essentiel de développer les six vertus transcendantes (sanscrit : Pâramitâ) telles que la générosité (Dâna), l’éthique (Sila), la patience (Ksanti), la persévérance (Virya), l’attention stable (Dhyâna) et la sagesse (Prajñâ). Quatre autres vertus complémentaires sont développées telles que les moyens (Upâya), l’aspiration (Pranidhâna), la puissance (Bala) et la connaissance (Jñâna).

Rien ne peut être reçu si nous ne sommes pas prêts à nous départir de l’avarice. Sans préserver une éthique pure il est impossible de nous comporter de façon juste pour accomplir le bien d’autrui. Sans accroître la patience véritable la colère et l’aversion ne peuvent être vaincues. Sans cultiver la persévérance nous ne pouvons arriver à l’achèvement. Sans une attention stable nous ne pouvons développer une conscience juste de tous les instants. Si l’ignorance et les voiles de la conscience ne sont pas transformés et clarifiés, la sagesse ne peut s’épanouir. Sans cette aptitude à discerner la méthode appropriée à chaque être, le bien d’autrui ne peut s’accomplir. Sans le vœu et l’aspiration à sauver les êtres la pratique ne sera que des mots. Sans la capacité et le pouvoir spirituel rien ne peut être accompli. Sans connaissance ou sagesse absolue la véritable libération ne peut être atteinte.

Up