Pages Menu
Menu

The Fourteenth Shamarpa

Mipham Chokyi Lodro (Invincible Intelligence of the Teaching), also known as Kunzig Shamar (Holder of the Red Crown who sees all), the precious Master was born in Derge, Tibet in 1952. He is the fourteenth incarnation of an accomplished being. This great bodhisattva, of equal quality with the Gyalwa Karmapa, is an emanation of the Buddha Amitabha, "Infinite Light." He is the second most important master of the Kagyu lineage after the Karmapa. The Karmapa are sometimes referred to as the Black Crown Lama, referring to their black crown. The second Karmapa, Karma Pakshi, prophesied that in the future, the Karmapa would come in the form of two Nirmanakayas. Later on, the third Karmapa Rangjung Dorje gave to his main disciple, Khedrup Drakpa Senge, a red crown which was an exact replica of his own black crown. The Karmapa explained that it symbolized their identical nature and thus the line of Shamarpas began.

In summer 1956, at the age of four, recognizing old monks at Yangpachen monastery, the ancestral home of the Karmapa, Mipham Chokyi Lodro reveals his identity as Sharmapa. He was also recognized by the sixteenth Karmapa, Rangjung Dorje Rigpai as the reincarnation of the thirteenth Sharmapa and he remained with the Sixteenth Karmapa from whom he received the full cycle of Kagyu teachings until his death in 1981.

Kunzig Shamar Rinpoche has been dedicated to many projects initiated by the sixteenth Karmapa. He completed a reprint of 'Tengyur', a collection of two hundred and fourteen books in which Indian and Tibetan eminent masters elucidate the teachings of the historical Buddha Shakyamuni.

He co-created and developed the Karmapa International Buddhist Institute in New Delhi, India. The Institute currently offers classes in Buddhist studies for both ordained and lay students. He also had the responsibility for training the Karmapa.

Shamar Rinpoche frequently traveled abroad where he taught in many Kagyu centers worldwide.

His ceaseless activity to preserve the authenticity of the transmission never prevented him from being attentive to all those who solicited him.

He left this illusory appearance in Germany, June 11, 2014.

Up

Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Le Quatorzième Shamarpa

Mipham Chokyi Lodro (Invincible Intelligence de l’Enseignement), connu également sous le nom de Kunzig Shamar (Détenteur de la coiffe rouge qui voit la totalité), le précieux Maître est né à Dergé, au Tibet en 1952. Il est la quatorzième incarnation d'un être réalisé. Ce grand bodhisattva, de qualité égale à celle du Gyalwa Karmapa, est une émanation du Bouddha Amithaba, "Lumière infinie". Il est le deuxième Maître le plus important de la lignée Kagyu après le Karmapa. Les Karmapas sont parfois désignés sous le nom de Lama à la Coiffe Noire, se référant à leur couronne noire. Le second Karmapa, Karmapakshi, a prophétisé qu’à l’avenir, le Karmapa se manifesterait sous la forme de deux Corps de Manifestation. Plus tard, le troisième Karmapa Rangjoung Dorjé présenta à son principal disciple, Khedrup Drakpa Sengé, une coiffe rouge qui était une réplique exacte de sa propre coiffe noire. Le Karmapa expliqua que cela symbolisait leur nature identique et donc la lignée des Shamarpas a commencé.

En été 1956, à l’âge de quatre ans, en reconnaissant de vieux moines du monastère Yangpachen, la résidence ancestrale des Karmapas, Mipham Chokyi Lodro révèle son identité en tant que Shamarpa. Il fut également reconnu par le seizième Karmapa, Rangjoung Rigpai Dorjé comme la réincarnation du treizième Shamarpa et il resta avec le seizième Karmapa de qui il reçut le cycle complet des enseignements Kagyu, jusqu'à sa mort en 1981.

Kunzig Shamar Rinpoché a consacré ses efforts à de nombreux projets initiés par le seizième Karmapa. Il a complété la réimpression du ‘Tengyur’, un ensemble de deux cent quatorze livres dans lesquels les maîtres indiens et tibétains éminents élucident les enseignements donnés par le Bouddha historique Shakyamuni.

Il a co-fondé et donné corps à l’Institut bouddhiste international du Karmapa (Karmapa International Buddhist Institute) à New Delhi, en Inde. L'institut offre actuellement des cours d'études bouddhistes à la fois pour des étudiants ordonnés et laïques. Il a également eu la charge la formation du Karmapa.

Shamar Rinpoché a fréquemment voyagé à l'étranger où il a enseigné dans les nombreux centres kagyu à travers le monde.

Son activité incessante au service de la préservation de l’authenticité de la transmission ne l’a jamais empêché d’être à l’écoute de tous ceux qui le sollicitent

Il a quitté cette apparence illusoire en Allemagne, le 11 juin 2014.

Up