Pages Menu
Menu

Venerable Guendun Rinpoche

Gendun Rinpoche  also called Lama Gendun is a Tibetan master of the Kagyupa school of the Buddha Way prevalent in Tibet in the transmission of Vajrayana.

He was born in 1918 in eastern Tibet, in Kham. Lama Gendun yearned for spirituality. Rinpoche talks of this period in these terms: “Although I had received no religious education, all my mind aspired to the holy Dharma. I watched the life my parents led ,   ordinary and straight people. But seeing them only concerned with this existence, I thought: All concerns in the world are useless and with no future. What’s going to happen after death? An ordinary life does not create any good, it can only lead to suffering. “

Around the age of seven, Lama Gendun then began his apprenticeship in the monastic life. He remained for years to learn how to meditate with the teachers who stayed in the monastery. He aspired only to the practices of the Vajrayana, the quick path to attain enlightenment.

At 17, he received monastic ordination and did the traditional three years and three months retreat , the minimum age of 21 was required to do so, so his parents  offered the missing years of their lives so that he could realize his wish. He achieved many spiritual realizations. After this three-year retreat, he remained several years in the monastery of Khyodrag in solitary retreat to lead his meditation to completion. After several years of intense practice, his Master came to him in his cell and said, ‘Now you have freed your mind, you can go where you wish and benefit beings.’

Then he made a pilgrimage, during which he constantly meditated in many sacred caves throughout Tibet. Twenty years went off in that way.

In 1959, the Chinese military occupation of Tibet forced many Lamas to flee. Gendun Rinpoche accompanied by two other Masters left and went India without being bothered. He went to see the 16th Karmapa, the spiritual leader of the Karma Kagyu school. He was given the direction of a monastery in Bhutan. But this life did not suit Gendun Rinpoche, he aspired to the solitary life of a hermit. The 16th Karmapa then authorized him to live in the house of a benefactor in Bengal, where Gendun Rinpoche remained in retreat for a dozen years. On this occasion Pourtsela joined him and accompanied him.

In 1974, the 16th Karmapa said to Rinpoche: “I am going to Europe and America. Westerners, despite their material well-being, are ignorant of the Way to enlightenment, and therefore experiment a lot of suffering from the afflictions that trouble the mind, pride, jealousy, desire, hatred … Only an authentic spiritual path can solve their suffering. If the conditions are gathered for the propagation of Mahayana (the way of the Great Vehicle that develops the enlightened mind for the benefit of others), then it is you who will be responsible for its development in Europe. Lama Gendun then argued about his inability and ignorance, but the Karmapa said, ‘there is nothing to talk about, I know the signs, I know you’re a Lama who led his practice to completion. The time has come for you to accomplish well-being of others. […] So, you will settle down in Europe. Do not be worried. You have the necessary karma to accomplish this task. The time has come for you to implement it. I am the Karmapa, if you have even a little faith in the name of Karmapa, you have to believe my words’ he says with a laugh.

Thus, Lama Gendun Rinpoche arrived in France in August 1975. He traveled in most European countries. He taught in the center of Dagpo Kagyu Ling in Dordogne, which had been offered the Gyalwa Karmapa and became an important center for the teaching of the Buddha Dharma.

In 1984 he founded Dagpo Kundreul Ling in Auvergne with its three years three months retreat centers, its monastic hermitages and its great temple. He trained many Western Lamas.

Karme Dharma Tchakra was the first non-Christian monastic congregation recognized by the French government. The ceaseless activity of Gendun Rinpoche enabled the creation of many centers all over France (the Karma Teksoum Chöling centers )

He passed away on October 31rst, 1997, in his room in Dagpo Kundreul Ling in Auvergne.

He was cremated forty days later. All his Western disciples were assembled for the occasion. Some of them who had great faith in him could see wonderful signs at this particular time as the vision of his head with a crown. Those who had faith could also see outside the manifestation of elements that were expressed in a marvelous way obviously showing the impermanence through the four seasons movement which came one after the other without exception throughout the ceremonies: the strong fall wind, winter snow, spring rain and then summer sunshine and blue sky. Today some of his followers faithfully and respectfully continue to transmit the richness of his teachings as much as possible so that it continues to benefit beings.

The Venerable Lama Gendun Rinpoche is the Root Master of Lama Tsultrim Gyamtso.

 

Up

Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Le Vénérable Guendun Rinpotché

Guendun Rinpotché, aussi appelé Lama Guendun, est un Maître tibétain de l’école Kagyupa de la Voie du Bouddha répandue au Tibet dans la transmission du Vajrayana.Il est né en 1918 au Tibet oriental, dans la région du Kham. Lama Guendun aspirait à la spiritualité. Rinpotché parle ainsi de cette période : «  Bien que je n’eusse reçu aucune éducation religieuse, tout mon esprit aspirait au saint Dharma. J’observais la vie que menaient mes parents, des gens simples et droits. Mais les voyant soucieux seulement de cette existence, je me disais : Toutes les préoccupations liées au monde sont inutiles et sans lendemain. Que se passera-t-il après la mort ? Une vie ordinaire ne crée rien de bon, elle ne peut conduire qu’à la souffrance. « 

Vers l’âge de sept ans, Lama Guendun commença donc son apprentissage de la vie monastique. Il resta des années à apprendre à méditer auprès des maîtres qui restaient au monastère. Il n’aspirait qu’aux pratiques du Vajrayana, la voie rapide pour atteindre l’éveil.

A 17 ans, il reçut l’ordination monastique et fit la traditionnelle retraite de trois ans et trois mois, l’âge de 21 ans minimum était requis pour ce faire, aussi ses parents offrirent-ils les années manquantes de leur propre vie afin qu’il puisse réaliser son souhait. Il atteignit de nombreuses réalisations spirituelles. Après cette retraite de trois ans, il resta plusieurs années encore au monastère de Khyodrag en retraite solitaire pour mener à son terme sa méditation. Après quelques années de pratique intense, son Maître vînt le trouver dans sa cellule et lui dit : ‘tu as maintenant libéré tes pensées, tu peux partir où tu le souhaites et accomplir le bien des êtres.’

C’est alors qu’il entreprit un pèlerinage, au cours duquel il médita constamment dans de nombreuses grottes sacrées au travers du Tibet. Une vingtaine d’années se déroulèrent ainsi.

En 1959, l’occupation militaire chinoise du Tibet contraignit de nombreux Lamas à fuir. Guendun Rinpotché accompagné de deux autres Maîtres partit et gagna l’Inde sans être inquiété. Il se rendit auprès du 16ème Karmapa, chef spirituel de l’école Karma Kagyu. Il reçut la direction d’un monastère au Bhoutan. Mais cette vie ne convenait pas à Guendun Rinpotché, il n’aspirait qu’à la vie d’ermite solitaire. Le 16ème Karmapa l’autorisa alors à résider chez un bienfaiteur au Bengale, où Guendun Rinpotché demeura en retraite pendant une douzaine d’années. C’est en cette occasion que Pourtséla se joint à lui et l’accompagna.

En 1974, le 16ème Karmapa dit à Rinpotché : « Je vais me rendre en Europe et en Amérique. Les occidentaux, en dépit de leur bien-être matériel, sont ignorants de la Voie de l’Eveil, et de ce fait connaissent beaucoup de souffrances dues aux perturbations mentales qui agitent leur esprit, orgueil, jalousie, désir, haine… Seule une voie spirituelle authentique peut porter remède à leurs souffrances. Si les conditions sont réunies pour la propagation du Mahayana (la voie du Grand Véhicule qui permet de développer l’esprit d’éveil pour le bien d’autrui), c’est toi qui seras chargé de te rendre en Europe pour le diffuser. Lama Guendun manifesta alors son incapacité et son ignorance, mais le Karmapa lui dit : il n’y a rien à débattre, je connais les signes; je sais que tu es un Lama qui a mené sa pratique jusqu’à son terme. Le temps est venu pour toi d’accomplir le bien des autres. […] Tu vas donc t’installer en Europe. Ne sois pas inquiet. Tu as le karma nécessaire à l’accomplissement de cette tâche. Le temps est venu pour toi de le mettre en œuvre. Je suis le Karmapa ; si tu as un tant soit peu foi dans le nom de Karmapa, tu dois croire mes paroles « , conclut-il en riant.

Lama Guendun Rinpotché arriva ainsi en France en août 1975. Il voyagea dans la plupart des pays d’Europe. Il enseigna dans le centre de Dagpo Kagyu Ling en Dordogne qui avait été offert au Gyalwa Karmapa et qui devint un centre important d’enseignement du Dharma du Bouddha.

En 1984, il fonda Dagpo Kundreul Ling en Auvergne avec ses centres de retraite de trois ans trois mois, ses ermitages monastiques et son grand temple. Il y forma de nombreux Lamas occidentaux.

Karmé Dharma Tchakra fut la première congrégation monastique non-chrétienne reconnue par l’État français. L’activité incessante de Guendun Rinpotché permit la création de nombreux centres à travers la France (les centres Karma Teksoum Tcheuling)

Il décéda le 31 octobre 1997 dans sa chambre à Dagpo Kundreul Ling en Auvergne.

Il fut incinéré quarante jours plus tard. Tous ses disciples occidentaux furent réunis pour cette occasion. Certains d’entre eux qui avaient une grande foi en lui purent voir des signes merveilleux lors de ce moment particulier comme la vision de sa tête portant une coiffe. Ceux qui eurent foi ont pu aussi constater au niveau extérieur la manifestation des éléments qui s’exprimèrent de façon merveilleuse montrant avec évidence l’impermanence au travers du mouvement des quatre saisons qui se succédèrent toutes sans exception tout au long des cérémonies : vent violent de l’automne, neige de l’hiver, pluie printanière et enfin soleil et ciel bleu de l’été. Aujourd’hui certains de ses disciples confiants et respectueux continuent à transmettre la richesse de ses enseignements autant que possible afin qu’elle perdure pour le bien des êtres.

Le Vénérable Lama Guendun Rinpotché est le Maître Racine de Lama Tsultrim Gyamtso.

 

Up