Pages Menu
Menu

The Venerable Lama Teunzang

A native of eastern Tibet (Kham), Lama Teunzang was born in 1934 in a family of Ngagpa (Faithful Practitioner of the Virtue of the Way of Mantras).

Very early he was interested in spiritual practice and he spent part of his youth travelling around Tibet in many holy places with his older brother. At the age of 17, he met the 16th Karmapa in which he recognized his master and entered the Tsurphu monastery .

He studied there for several years and in 1959 he fled the Chinese invasion, following the Karmapa and took refuge in India, at Rumtek, where he continued his studies with his Masters.

He worked hard to build the new monastery, while studying and practicing meditation.

Once the monastery was built, he asked permission  to Gyalwa Karmapa to go with Kalu Rinpoche at  Sonada where the first retreat center would be built. Permission was granted and after the construction of the retreat center, he accomplished the traditional three year retreat.

In 1976, at the request of the 16th Karmapa and Kalu Rinpoche, he became the Spiritual Master of the Montchardon center, in the Vercors, Karma  Migyour Ling, which, through his tireless efforts, has turned into a welcoming and thriving place where many people come each year from all over Europe,  attracted by the radiation and by the exceptionally generous personality  of Lama Teunzang .

He teaches Tibetan and is translated into French.

The Venerable Lama Teunzang is Lama Tsultrim Gyamtso’s Friend-of-Virtue Master

Up

Pages Menu
Categories Menu

Le Vénérable Lama Teunzang

Originaire du Tibet oriental (Kham), Lama Teunzang est né en 1934 dans une famille de Ngagpa (Pratiquants Fidèles à la Vertu de la Voie des Mantras).

Attiré très tôt par la pratique spirituelle, il passa une partie de sa jeunesse à voyager au Tibet dans de nombreux lieux saints avec son frère aîné. A l’âge de 17 ans, il rencontra le 16ème Karmapa en lequel il reconnut son Maître et entra dans son monastère, à Tsurphou.

Il y étudia pendant quelques années, puis en 1959, il dut fuir l’invasion chinoise, à la suite du Karmapa et se réfugia en Inde, à Rumtek où il poursuivit ses études auprès de ses Maîtres.

Il travailla durement à la construction du nouveau monastère, tout en étudiant et pratiquant la méditation.

Après l’achèvement du monastère, il demanda l’autorisation au Gyalwa Karmapa d’aller à Sonada auprès de Kalou Rinpotché où le premier centre de retraite allait se construire. La permission lui fut accordée et après la construction du centre de retraite, il accomplit la traditionnelle retraite de trois ans.

En 1976, à la demande du 16ème Karmapa et de Kalou Rinpotché, il devint le Maître Spirituel du centre de Montchardon, dans le Vercors, Karma Migyour Ling, qui, grâce à ses efforts inlassables, s’est métamorphosé en un lieu accueillant et florissant où viennent chaque année, de toute l’Europe, de très nombreuses personnes attirées par le rayonnement et la personnalité exceptionnellement généreuse de Lama Teunzang.

Il enseigne en Tibétain et est traduit en Français.

Le Vénérable Lama Teunzang est le Maître Ami de Bien de Lama Tsultrim Gyamtso.

Up